I was delighted to be invited to The Meetings Show hosted buyer reception last week, and for the very first time as a buyer!

I received my invitation from the lovely folks at Lime Venue Portfolio, official hosts of the event held on Monday evening at Dartmouth House, headquarters and home to the English Speaking Union in Mayfair.

My first ever visit to Dartmouth House I was quite taken aback by how stunning the venue is. There’s seven event spaces spread over two floors accommodating up to 450 and a beautiful courtyard in the middle, perfect for summer events and evening drinks receptions.

IMG_4996

The venue is grade II listed and is scheduled as a building of national importance. The walls of this old building could certainly tell a tale or two but most notably it’s role during World War II as the HQ of a large scale relief programme organising and distributing clothing, toys, blankets, ambulances, canteens and binoculars to British servicemen, Home Guard, the Red Cross and British families.

So what about the event? It’s not a reception if you don’t have a few prizes up for grabs and Wildgoose Events were running a spot of treasure hunt led gamification, their specialty. The competitive side of me certainly kicked in as by the time I’d answered all the questions, and I was quite determined to answer all the questions, I was too late for the food being served in the drawing room!

I know Payne and Gunter are good but they really surpassed themselves on the night, either that or there were a few special ingredients in those dishes, as they couldn’t seem to get the food out the kitchen fast enough!

Leiths were also on top form creating an edible 80s throwback Black Gateau dessert table in the courtyard which also went down a storm with the guests.

IMG_5015 IMG_5025

EMS Events provided the entertainment in the Churchill room, Eventologists provided the theming and I loved the sponge trees in the courtyard. My favourite though by far, and one thing I did manage to eat, Lick Me I’m Delicious had a fantastic Logo Pop installation that I highly recommend you look at, a really innovative way to push a brand at an event and great for sponsors.

IMG_4979 IMG_4991 IMG_5020

Despite my very best effort unbelievably I didn’t win a prize on the night but really enjoyed my first ever hosted buyer reception, and in a fabulous venue that’s certainly now on my radar. A great way to kick off The Meetings Show 2015 and I’m looking forward to what’s in store next year.

Until next time #Eventprofs…